The First Ever Wilburn Fellows

Published Wednesday, October 10, 2012 9:00 am
by Nick Depuy

The inaugural year of the Wilburn Fellowship came to an incredibly successful close at its awards assembly held on June 11, 2012 at New Canaan High School when the first ever Wilburn Fellows were named and honored.

The assembly was well attended by more than 60 interested students, teachers, department heads and school officials.

Special guests who were recognized included Reverend Gary Wilburn's widow, Bev Wilburn who traveled from California for the awards presentation, and former Principal of the High School, Tony Pavia, as Mr. Pavia was instrumental in the groundwork of the Fellowship in the year prior to his retirement.

All eight applicants were awarded certificates of participation, the three finalists received special recognition, and the assembly culminated with the naming of the 2012 Wilburn Fellows: Alexandra Klapper, Gita Abhiraman and Jessica Kao for the submission of their wonderful project "Widening The Scope", a powerful video presentation of the beauty of diversity in select cultures around the world.

Ms. Klapper's, Ms. Abhiraman's and Ms. Kao's video can be viewed at the following LINK, and photos of the award presentations are available in our PHOTO GALLERY.

While all the 2012 applications were submitted in memory of Dr. Wilburn's legacy and his belief in the beauty of humanity's mosaic, "Widening The Scope" was most in tune with the Fellowship's mission to bring people of difference together in ways whereby those differences can not only be understood, but celebrated.

Additionally the Fellowship Committee was impressed with the 2012 Wilburn Fellows' commitment to continue to "widen the scope" to other cultures around the world through their project moving forward. There can be no doubt that our sharing of our cultural differences is what enriches us all.

The Wilburn Fellowship Committee could not be more pleased with the outcome of the 2012 program, and it looks forward to the launch of the 2013 Wilburn Fellowships in the new school year.